TPO11Some people say that the internet provides people with a lot of valuable information Others think access to so much information creates problems

Whereas some people believe the internet offer people an opportunity for useful information, others consider the widespread of the internet could lead to numerous issues. From my perspective, I firmly believe the latter group carries more weight and I will elaborate on my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the internet could provide wrong information to the users. Obviously, if the users search the current news on the internet, the source of the news might from people who have a purpose and trying to mislead the public opinion. In contrast, the information from a reliable group such as the television or newspaper has the responsibility to check the content or needs to provide a mutual opinion. Consequently, the internet as a medium is not an ideal method to obtain information. For instance, in early 2021, Oxford University published an investigation of the cyber-disinformation during the presidential election of the united states of America in 2020. The survey indicated that over twenty percent of the news and announcement on the internet are incorrect and was manufactured by people who try to manipulate the public opinion on a certain event. Hence, the example illustrates that the internet can cause problems when it comes to delivering news.

Second, the internet can lead to danger and fraud without notice. Evidently, the internet connects users around the world and makes communication more frequent and convenient. However, the potential issues and problems follow with such phenomenon. To illustrate, my personal experience is a compelling example. When I was in college, I was searching for an internship opportunity on the internet, and I accidentally fall into a fraud trap on a website, my personal information and bank account password was exposed to the hacker, and lost a lot of money during the process. Thus, this demonstrated the opinion that the internet has potential crime issues and is not safe the use. I am sure that if a young generation like me can come across danger while utilizing the internet, the previous generation can be more vulnerable when having access to it.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that the internet produces many issues because of the potential cybercrime that could occur and easy to manipulate.