Universities should spend more money on improving facilities (like library, computer labs) than on hiring famous teachers.

Planning expenses reasonably and effectively is essential for developments of Universities. Personally, I strongly believe that hiring famous teachers is more crucial than improving facilities for universities. I feel this for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

At the beginning, famous teachers can bring lots of beneficial resources to universities, which will let students have more opportunities. Famous professors usually have connections in their own fields. Thus, they can introduce lots job positions or research opportunities to their students. My own experience is a compelling example. The last year of undergraduate study, I put lots of effort on searching for a job as a film editor. However, I found out that film companies usually hired film editors who had several years work experiences. Obviously, I was not qualified. In order to find if there were any companies that hired editor without any work experiences, I wrote an email to one of my professors for help, who was a famous documentary filmmaker. Finally, he introduced me to his friend's company which was willing to accept editor without work experiences. With his introduction, I successfully found the job that I love.

Furthermore, famous teachers can attract more excellent students to apply for the universities, which will improve the quality of students. Famous professors' reputation could let universities have more excellent students and universities will have more valuable research outputs. For instance, my friend John who had a very great performance on his academic study during high school and he got lots of offers from universities that had high rankings. However, he did not choose to go to these universities with high rankings, instead he enrolled in an average university. He explained that he chose this university was because of a famous professor in history department. When John started his undergraduate study, he kept doing research with that famous professor and he has already been a famous researcher in history field.

It is true that spend money on facilities could improve students learning experience. However, students' learning experience most depend on teachers’ performances. Thus, comparing to the benefits that hiring famous teachers can bring, it is seems less important.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that hiring famous teachers is more crucial than improving facilities for universities. This is because famous teachers can bring good resources to students, and because they can attract more excellent students.