Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Planning services rationally is one of the crucial responsibilities for governments. Personally, I do not feel that governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. I feel this way in two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the Internet services need money to maintain the services. If governments provide Internet services for free, they need to reduce funding for other services for the Internet

maintenance. For instance, if governments reduce money for transportation services like building more subway stations or planning new bus routes, this may lead inconveniences to citizens in some areas. Moreover, if governments reduce funding for building roads, this may cause more traffic jams or accidents. In addition, if the money for supporting public services is used for providing Internet. As a result, some public buildings like libraries or post offices, they will have less money to hire enough employees to serve citizens. Citizens may feel disappointed with governments because of bad experiences. Accordingly, it is not valuable for governments to offer free Internet services since other services like building and roads are more necessary than Internet.

Secondly, it is wasteful for governments to offer Internet access to all of their citizens. Generally, most people nowadays are using Internet every day, but there are also some citizens like old people who do not use Internet. Take my grandparents as an example, last year, I decided to teach my grandparents to use smart phones to send messages or read news online. Therefore, I helped open and install the Internet service in their apartment. However, when I was teaching them how to use the smart phone, they were really uninterested in learning about this. At the same time, my grandfather told me that he felt uncomfortable with looking at the screen of the smart phone. Finally, I realized that smart phones and Internet services were not necessary in their lifes. Thus, I closed their apartment's Internet service and played with them in other ways that they felt more enjoyable.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is not a good idea that governments provide Internet services for all of their citizens for free. This is because the maintenance of the Internet services will make government to reduce the money to other more important services, and also because it is wasteful for people who do not need this service.