watching movies is more enjoyable than reading books

It has been an endless debate whether watching movies is more enjoyable than reading fiction. To an extent this may seem as a pointless argument, however furthening into the subject can be estimulating to our minds, and may change the way we look at books. I strongly believe that books brings more joy than movies, for it is more emotionally impactful.

Firstly, it is known that movies, most of the times, have a shorter story than books; An average movie lasts around one hour and a half, whereas a book can range from 300-600 pages on average- and sometimes have over 1,000 pages. Books tend to be longer because for the cinematic market it is not beneficial to make really long movies, for people don’t have the time to watch them in one sit. Based on this information we can claim that books have more room to develop a plot and its characters. This is an advantage in the simplest way: Having more space to explain a character’s personality and background makes the process of catharsis more meaningful for the reader.

Secondly, even though a movie may be seen as more entertaning for its visual resources, a book offers a better scenary: Imagination. Instead of watching a screen with the ambientation the movie’s director wants you to see, you can create your custom environment that fits your liking. By using imagination you place the story in your mind, and save it there with all your memories; On the other hand, by watching a movie, you will only remember the most visually astonishing parts of the whole story. Therefore, you create a bond with the story when you imagine it.

To summarize, books have a more pleasing effect on people than movies. This is because reading doesn’t have the boundries movies have, namely plot development limit, and predetermined ambientation for the story.