What are the important qualities of a good son or daughter? Have these qualities changed or remained the same over time in your culture? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family and relationship values are an important aspect of society for a healthy living. The love and affection from parents are selfless, hence it is of utmost importance for the children to take care of them back. Although the qualities to define the kids are different among different cultures, invariably the values have changed or faced a downstream certainly in most of the countries. I would like to substantiate my notion in the ensuing paragraphs.

First of all, Love and care from Parents since a child is born is boundless and with zero expectations. No matter how a child tries to reciprocate it, certainly it cannot equate the love of the parents. Most of the old age homes are overboard with the elders in my society. Children either because of financial burden or because of career opportunity in a far away town or city drop their parents in such homes. these abandoned parents also expressed the difference of opinion with their children or son - or daughter- in law. The growing financial burden to take care of the families and cost of education is yet another reason for the children to abandon their parents. The psychological percussion it causes is definitely traumatic.

Moreover, it is the father and mother who teach their children how to walk, talk and eat. When it is the time of the children to take care of them when they are unable to eat, walk or talk they have to absolutely do it without hesitation. In my society, it is taught that "Serving Parents is to serve God". But the children these days are really impatient to do such basic chores. Often they neglect these responsibilities. The growing use of the internet and continuous expenditure of time in social networking sites has almost nullified the time spent with the parents. Children should always show their respect to the elders thereby, they get respect from the future generation.

In addition, Children should be obedient to the parents at any age. Most of the kids are obedient only until the primary school level. Once they step into teenage, the level of obedience declines. Often children consider that their parents are ignorant or naive. This attitude broadens the gap between children and parents. for instance, My uncle and aunt suggested my cousin to pick up engineering when he entered university and thereby he can take care of my uncle's firm. My Uncle moreover felt that my cousin is very good at engineering. But my cousin picked up maths and really struggled to even pass his exams. He had to give up the course to rejoin the engineering college later on. Had he had listened to my uncle, he would not have wasted time and energy.

Admittedly, not all children neglect or abandon their parents, there are some kids who really take good care of the family. There are still some joint family systems in my region but however, the count is less. The virtues of such joint family system enable the children to take good care of their older parents and the future generation imbibes a lot of good values.

In conclusion, Good children should definitely pay respect, show love and affection and take good care of their parents. The values have certainly deteriorated in the present era, nevertheless, it is not completely invisible.