What discovery in the last 100 years has been most beneficial for people in your country? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice

For Saudi Arabia, the discovery that led to the greatest change was the discovery of oil. Oil was first found eighty years ago by a group of American geologists and Bedouins who knew how to navigate their way in the desert using the position of stars. The unearthing of these oil wells has dramatically changed the economy and lifestyle of people dramatically ever since.

A few years after finding the oil wells, Saudi Arabia became the world's largest exporter of oil. Now, the majority of Saudi Arabia's income depends on oil exports. Not long before, the Kingdom relied on income received from pilgrims and the farming of dates. People lived in mud houses as bedouins. The breadwinner of the family would go abroad leaving their families behind in search for jobs that could allow them to meet daily needs. Now, Saudi Arabia is among the top thirty richest countries in the world.

The advent of oil exports from Saudi Arabia also changed the country’s international relationship, as countries like the USA, China and Russia depended on oil from Saudi Arabia. KSA is now one of the members of the G20 as well

Besides these improvements, we also saw a change in the infrastructure of the country. This was initially done to allow efficient extraction of oil but as the national income increased, the money was spent to improve the overall infrastructure of the country, with proper roads and bridges. Improved housing, increased job opportunities as well as improved education were also the result of oil exports. Now, as oil dependence is reducing and the fear of oil depletion looms on the head of the government, the country uses its strong economic position and good international relationships to focus on other areas that the Kingdom can invest in for the future.

To sum up, the discovery of oil has completely changed Saudi Arabia. As the economy improved, so did the country’s infrastructure and people’s lifestyle. It gave rise to many job opportunities as well. The country now uses the income from oil exports to finance future projects when oil shortage becomes a problem.