What is the most important factor that affect the lasting time of a friendship?

help each other at difficult time

have same interests

trust each other completely

Currently, living in the society full of fierce competition, there is a propensity that a bunch of individuals have a preference for choosing their friends or maintaining a friendship, some of them reckon that sharing the same interests is their first priority, while others contend that they prefer to take into trusting into their consideration. Personally speaking, I can hardly concur with the listed opinions and I harbor the idea that helping with each other in difficult time is the most significant factor affecting my lasting time of friendship for reasons as follows.

To start with, helping with each other lays a solid foundation for maintaining a friendship. To be more specific, during the process of establishing relationship, it is extremely difficult for us to tell whether the person is worthy of making acquaintance with based on what I can see superficially, because of which, the properties of helping or their behaviors of reaching out their hands to me when I am in trouble are what can truly reflects their qualities. In addition, helping with each other also plays a vital role in maintaining the friendship. Provided that a friend stands by instead of offering me a hand to help me out of a dilemma, I am likely to pause this friendship since I devote wholeheartedly to help him or her and I deserve equal commitment toward me. Concretely, in a relationship with friends, due to individuals’ instinct of devote, they are likely to convey their friendliness toward each other, including helping friends with problems confronted with them, meanwhile individuals also possess the desire of being helped or loved, for this reason of satisfied desire, the friendship can last for a long time period.

What’s more, helping with each other also contributes to friends’ topics. During the time confronted with varieties of troubles, individuals tend to memorize the shared experience, including how one friend comforted us, how smart they were to help us come us with effective approaches to address issues and things like that. Therefore, after experiencing the dilemma, each time friends are reminded of the memorable experience, friends recall their relationship and can help in marveling at how determined their friendship is, which constitutes a stepping stone in underpinning their long-lasting relationship. For instance, one of my best friends, Rebecca, helped me during the period of making preparation for the college entrance exams. Now, both of us are admitted by top universities located in different provinces, but distance does not exert detrimental effects on our friendship, each time we recall our shared experience in high school, we have lots of intriguing affairs to talk with each other, including words she once told me to comfort me, harsh disciplines implemented by our teachers and so on, which contributes to maintaining our friendship despite of our long distance and divergent majors.

Admittedly, possessing the same interests also has its perks in maintaining a friendship, owing to its function in engaging a large number of topics to talk about. But as time goes by, individuals’ interests are easily changed, especially in nowadays society full of diversified newly-emerging affairs, thus the friendship based on same interests cannot last for a long time. With regard to trusting each other completely, trust cannot be erected without a solid foundation in a relationship, which indicates that in order to pursue long-lasting friendship, the first step is to reach out our hands to friends so as to build trust gradually.

In a nutshell, from what has been discussed above, the most crucial factor in maintaining a long-lasting friendship is helping with each other, owing to the effects exerted on achieving intentional satisfaction and engaging more intriguing topics through the shared experience in tackling problems.