When making major purchase for example car or laptop our decisions can be influenced by different sources of information Explain how each of the following sources of information can influence your decision 1 Recommendations from friends or colleagues 2 In

Nowadays, our lives are full of information from different sources. Especially coming to purchase, consumers could see advertisement on TV, newspapers or magazines or get recommendation from salesperson. In my opinion, recommendations from friends or colleagues are the best reference for decision.

Firstly, unlike the salesperson, friends or colleagues cannot get any benefits by promoting certain products. They usually only recommend a product, only in the situation, that they actually used and enjoyed using this product. Therefore, their recommendation is more convincing than information from other sources.

Secondly, if I took the advice from friends or colleagues buying the same product, such as a car or a computer as theirs, I could ask them for help, in case I don't know how to use certain function of this product. Someone may argue that I could get more professional support from a salesperson in a store. But we all have the experience, that we waited on the hot-line for several hours without any solution to our problems about the product. It is more convenient to communicate with friends or colleagues. If they also don't know any solutions... what a good chance to create a valuable shared experience by researching on the product together with friends or colleagues!

Last but not the least, the recommendations from friends or colleagues could come from different information sources. They could also have done a lot of research on, including but not limited to information from the media or salesperson. Therefore, asking advice from friends or colleagues is the most effective way to collect the information about certain products. Statistic shows that each person get hundreds of pieces of advertisement through different medias every day. By asking several friends or colleagues, I could get more information than searching from other resources.

In conclusion, asking recommendations from friends or colleagues are the most convincing, easy and effective way to make a better decision on a major purchase.