Which would you choose a higher paid job with long hours or an average paid job with normal work hours Explain your choice using specific reasons and details

A good job has traditionally been seen as a stepping stone to a successful life. However, the definition of a good job is still debatable. Some companies encourage employees working longer than 40 hours per week by offering more payment. But I would definetely decline such an offer and chose the job with average pay and normal number of working hours.

The first reason for my stance is that more working time does not equate to a better working performance. Study shows that the people cannot focus on working for more than 10 hours a day without decline of effectivity. Employees need enough time for entertainment and leisure to relax their minds. After recharging, they could better devote themselves into the work. Therefore, a normal number of working hours is not only benifical to the mental health of employees, but also contribute to their productivity.

Secondly, less work time means more time for self-improving. An employee should always keep enough time for learning to better adapt to the new demands of the workplace. To give a specific example, for the past three months, I used my after-work time to learn a new programming language. With this knowledge, I got an offer with more payment and time flexibility. This experience proves the importance of chosing a job with sufficiant time for myself.

Last but not the least, more pay does not necessarily result in happiness. Though people could get their materialistic desires satisified with money, but money brings less long-term benifits to people. Once people sacrifice their time to money, it can create a high level of stress for him. What is the point of more payment, if people can only work under the stress?

Therefore, I would encourage people to take a job with normal number of working hours and average pay.