whether today young people are better able to make decesions about their own lives without their parents' help compared with the past

There is no doubt that parents play an important part in our life, and it is them that lead us into a right direction. On many occasions, the young people depend on their parents to make decisions. However, whether today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives without their parents' help compared with the past is debated. Personally speaking, I assert that the young people are more independent especially when taking the rapid development of society and the departure between young people and their parents into consideration.

Admittedly, nowadays the young people usually can't take good care of them and some of them need their parents to help them in daily life, like washing clothes, doing the cooking and so on. However, what should be pointed out is that the phenomenon also happens in the past.

Firstly, parents can't follow the pace of society development, as a result, they can't give some instructive advice to young people. For example, when I graduated from the high school, I wanted to major in engineering after I enter college. However, I were afraid that my parents won't allow me to do that because they always hold an opinion that no one can earn a lot of money by engaging in engineering. But, what is impressive is that my parents just said that you can

do what you want to do. As they confessed, they have little knowledge about college, everything in the future should be done by myself. So, the poor acquaintance about life today allow the young people make decisions freely.

Secondly, due to the advent of industrialization, more and more young people work in big cities in order to get higher salary, which is far away from their parents. Consequently, young people have to face everything independently. Take my brother, Tom as an example. He works in the Microsoft company which lies in Beijing, and my home is in Anhui province, 2000 kilometers from Beijing. Therefore, my brother have few chance to return home. In daily life, he has to make every decision by himself because no one is around him and help him. So it is more likely that the young people are independent due to the departure with their parents.

In conclusion, based on the reasons I stated above, I still insist that compared with the past, the young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives today.