Which do you think is the best way for students to make new friends? A. Joining a sports team; B. Participating in community activities. C. Traveling.

At present, it is widely believed that students can make new friends in various ways. In fact, the best method to build friendship with each other has been a topic of public concern. Some people suggest that travelling is the best way to make

friends with each other while others are in favor of participating in community activities. However, in my point of view, I prefer joining a sports team, which offers the most opportunities to individuals on making new

friends.

Firstly, the chances provided by the sports team make the friendship between members easier to form. It is mainly because the training of the sports team usually has its regular schedule and the extensive agenda brings in many opportunities for members in the sports team to communicate, which leads to the relation between members prone to be turned into friendship. Taking Tom, one member I know in the basketball team of our school, as an example, he has made several close friends in his team. According to his feedback, the members in the team are demanded to take 14 hours of exercise every week, which is quite extensive for most members. During the break time of training, Tom and his team members find that they have many common interests, such as watching professional games like NBA, CBA, and so on. He told me that

they are friends just like brothers now. Therefore, it can be ensured that the sports team will create numerous chances for its members to form strong friendships.

Secondly, the common goal the members share in the sports team can lead to stronger friendships within team members. The main reason is that the members can establish trust and tacit agreement during the process of achieving a common goal. Taking the basketball team where Tom plays as an example, their common goal is to win the state championship. Through multiple games to win the championship of 2012, the members achieved a better understanding about each other. In fact, every one learned many things about their team members' merits and demerits, and even about their

characters. Since knowing each other, they felt all members were trustful and even reached a tacit agreement about their members. In addition, the cooperation of them made their relationship tighter. When they finally won the championship, a sound friendship within each member has been formed. Consequently, the effect of a common goal in a sports team is undeniable and apparent and it indeed can be beneficial to lead to a strong friendship.

In conclusion, I firmly insist on joining a sports team, rather than participating in community activities and travelling, is the best way for students to make

new friends.