Which of the following activities do you think will be the most beneficial to the environment? (1) Commute by biking or walking (2) Recycling (3) Eating a vegan diet

Earth is being polluted since ages. It has now reached to a saturated state where immediate action to curb pollution has to be taken, otherwise it will end up having massive natural calamities. I personally believe it is important to recycle the waste generated by humans. Waste created by humans is causing a problem to Earth in ways. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, a lot of things used by humans are non-degradable and are of one-time use. Such a things when thrown out after usage, remain the earth for millions of years without getting degraded into soil. Soil then becomes incapable of observing water during rains and the underground water level would directly be effected. Water scarcity is even observed now a days in many regions which says that the problem has started already and we need to work on it immediately. For instance, Chennai city of India suffering due to shortage of water in summers. Chennai has been a great city with abundant natural resources in the past but now the story is entirely different. Chennai water shortage alerted many other places in India to take preventive measures and ensure proper recycling of the garbage.

Secondly, marine life also got effected because of non-biodegradable waste. Materials like plastic were being thrown into rivers and oceans by humans. These materials do not get destroyed for many years and marine animals consume those materials accidentally. Plastic can also have harmful effect on marine plants. To illustrate, many species of shark were endangered and are very near to extinction. The main reason for this is marine pollution caused by chemical waste as well as plastic waste. Many sea shores now a days are seen with full of plastic waste brought by the tides from the sea. A lot of birds and animals end up consuming such plastic waste. The food chain of the environment may eventually be damaged with such practices, as a result causes ecological imbalances.

Finally, recycling also provides us a way to use the exiting products without any bother about production of new ones. We need to understand the fact that natural resources are limited and humans need to make sure that they are available for the future generations too. We can already see a lot of climate changes in the nature and we humans lack the resources to curb it. Recycling is the only way to protect the limited resources we have in hands. Recycling of products is environmental friendly as well as economical beneficial to many classes of people . For example, recycling creates new opportunity to explore in the industries. Major countries like USA, dump their garbage into other countries under developed countries. Such countries can make good benefit out of it by exploring effective ways to recycle and reuse that garbage.

In conclusion, i'm of the opinion that recycling would do more good to environment. This is because land, water pollution can be eliminated to some extent by recycling the garbage and also it would help to improve the economy of country when implemented in the right way.