Which is more important for success: the natural ability you are born with or hard work? Explain your opinion, using specific reasons and examples.

Some people believe that a person born with natural ability has more chances for being successful in life. However, in my opinion, I strongly believe that hard work is something that may guarantee a person’s success. I feel this way for number of reasons which will be explored in the following essay.

To begin with, there is an old saying that hard work is the key to success. For example, in school, all the children are asked to work hard to achieve good grades. Albeit some students will do less hard work and more smart work to achieve good grades, those are the one’s born with natural ability to do so. However, if the student puts in time studying, practicing and revising he or she will guarantee achieve their dream scores. The ratio of having success after working hard is much more than the ratio of achieving it by one’s natural ability, in my opinion.

Furthermore, the famous psychologist and writer Malcolm Gladwell has stated in his internationally acclaimed book, Outliers, that if a person selects a particular field of his or her interest and puts in efforts for ten thousand hours, he or she is guaranteed to master that field and achieve success in it. Here he is being candid and stating that hard work is what it takes.

Also, majority of entrepreneurs are not born with the natural skill to start something of their own. They all work hard day and night to fulfill their goals and go ahead. Yes, they do have a natural ability in them, but that’s the passion, drive and positivity it takes to work hard. Jeff Bezos, the e-commerce tycoon, he started coding at a very young age. No doubt, people believe that he was born with the ability to grasp such things. But to take it to the next level, he worked hard, practiced his knowledge and implemented it. All this takes efforts.

In conclusion, this topic is complex; some suggest it is the natural ability what it takes. Nevertheless, I still contend that hard work is what will make one person be successful in life.