Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The prompt above raises a controversial issue that those in power in any fields like business, politics, education or government should step down after five years reasoning that the ladder of success is easily climbed by revitalization. People is each of the fields have, without a doubt, different thought processes in terms of achieving goals.

In business, the one in power, let’s say the CEO of the company has absolutely no reason to step down after five years. For example, Sundar Pichai, the CEO of Google, has been there for more than five years and Google has not seen a downfall in terms of business. Also, to be the one in power, it takes a lot of hard work, determination and a struggle. One climbing the ladders in a certain company is also increasing his/her knowledge about the company, the way it operates and functions. A person may take, let’s say arbitrarily three to four years to get at the stage, just to step down after five years? What is the guarantee, that the one who takes over would be as good as the one that did step down?

Coming to education, the principle of an esteemed school/college, the one in power, knows how the education system works. He/she has the experience and knows the ways of how certain rules should be set up in an institution. This person may actually want the betterment of the students by providing them with various co or extra curricular activites in various fields. Though some people treat education as a business, but not all. A school/college may have one in power who may either treat it as a business or selflessly think the betterment of the students and their future. Also, the students who are getting used to the education structure in their school/college may have to deal with new rules all over again in terms of curriculum, sports, timings etc.

Politics on the other side, runs on totally different path. It is sometimes dirty or otherwise. Here, the idea of stepping down after five years may be helpful for the country. But again, a coin has two sides. For example, Manmohan Singh, was the prime minister of India for ten years, that is two terms in India. India was progressing in terms of economy, industrialization and other factors, no doubt. But, after Narendra Modi, the current prime minister of India, was selected, India caught pace and there was and is substantial growth in the country.

So sometimes it is just not that, that the current one in power is good or bad at his role. Sometimes one needs to trail and test. In fact, no one will be corrupted, but the one succeeding may just be better. Thus, revitalization through new leadership is an absolutely correct reason but the claim of stepping down in five years is not warranted.