Which one is the most important for teacher of high school?

1. The ability to help students plan for their future;

2. The ability to find the students who need help most and help them

3. Teach students how to learn outside of the class.

Techers remain critical part in the education of high schoolers. Their teaching philosophy determine the quality of education, the development of youngsters, and the even the future of our society. While there are a lot of ways for teachers to educate students, I concur with the idea that imparting knowledge about self-study.

First, students will spend most of time self-studying. For high schoolers, the class time is usually very limited, and the time after class takes up most of the students’ life and has great impact on students’ study, such as the time when they are at home, the time they are at the library, or the time before class. If students know how to utilize this time, they will excel at the academics. So, if teacher can show students how to make reasonable timetable and daily schedule after class, students can make their own schedule at home, stay organized and have clear frame of mind of what they need to do next; if teacher can show students how to prepare for the exams after class like memorizing it according to the forget curve, students may know how to study in the library and get a high score, and if teachers can teach students how to prepare for class material before class, students will be better prepared for the class and absorb more when they are taking the classes.

Secondly, this will have a far-reaching impact on students’ future development. Eventually, they will leave school and there will be not teachers to teacher them step by step. If teacher impart knowledge about self-learning, students will know how to perform even after graduate. For example, at college, students may take a physic class in room with 500 people. Teachers may not be able to teach all the stuffs and they need to start learning their own. For students whose highs school teacher has taught the technique of self-study, they have better study habits and make plan on their own, so they can thrive in this free environment. By contrast, those who are clueless about self-studying, they may still get used to the care from high school teachers and struggle to learn by their own.

Admittedly, to help students plan for their future is important for students, giving them directions. However, in my country, most high students have one plan, going to college, while few of them make take the path to work or build start-up. Future-planning remain more important when they enter college as they decide major and future career. At this point, teachers in high school have one job, to help students get better grade by teaching them how to study after class. As for helping the needed ones, this method may help those laid back to catch up. However, similar to the previous point I made, they still have limited class time, the essence to their success to teach the study methods after classes dismissed.

In conclusion, I am deeply convinced that high school teachers should teach students more about how to study outside of the classroom, as this aids students in large amount of after-school time, has far-reaching impact on their future. As for the other two methods, one remains less important at high school stage, and the other doesn’t touch the essence.