Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important for the government to provide money for beautiful things and not just for practical things.

Beautiful things refer to those things that are more aesthetically pleasing and meet people’s need beyond basic level, like the city landscape, recreational park, art gallery. I concur with the idea that government should invest money for beautiful things rather spend all of it on practical and basic stuffs, so as to satisfy citizens need beyond useful, build edges in attracting more skillful workers, and mitigate current condition.

Beautiful things can satisfy people higher need. As the galloping development of the domestic economy, many households in the city become richer or enter the threshold of middle class. Many of these middle families have no worry about food and other basic and particle things. However, as they their basic needs are met already, they are new in need of higher satisfaction like art, recreational facilities. As the government invests to build a beautiful not so practical gallery, citizens can enter the gallery to appreciate the amazing masterpieces and have clam down their mind; as they build a theater, people can listen to the great plays by Shakespeare and release their stress; and also as they design a green park, people can get a little close to the nature and escape the bustle and hustle in the city.

Things that are beyond practical can attract more labors to the city. Creating more beautiful things can improve the image of the city, creating a better living condition and allure more skillful workers to immigrate to here. Nowadays, the competitions between cities are also fierce, as most of the cities have met many people’s basic needs. Winners come beyond creating practical things, rather lie in beautiful things. Supposed, a city spends a million dollars to renovate its old streets, plant more trees, building more green parks, and erecting a few more theaters. Compared to the city that just have basic stuffs like public transportation, mail service, it has more competitive edges on attracting more skillful workers. And those immigrates can in turn create far more than one million dollars that they initially invest. Therefore, government can create more fortune by building more beautiful things.

Beautiful things are not so lucrative and may not have a lot of investors. Generally, those beautiful things have less evident benefits and bring money in a long term many companies and private organizations will steer away from them. Many cities are in lack of those beauty and people lead a boring life. Government has more income than many companies, they have the capability to build these unpractical things. Also, it is the government should take the responsibility to create more beauty in the city and better lives for its citizens. Therefore, if citizens are craving for a new gallery. However, building it may cost millions of dollars and it receives little avenue back from selling tickets. It is time for government to take responsibility.

In conclusion, I am deeply convinced that government should invest in the beautiful things other than practical things, as this can meet people’s higher needs, allure more immigrants, and reverse recent awful situation.