Which of these forms of protest make the most impact:

• Going on strike

• Participating in marches

• Disseminating information through social media

Recently in Chile there have been protests, due to the injustices and inequalities that exist. Although there are different ways of expressing dissatisfaction with this. In my opinion, participating in marches is more influential and important. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, in a march there are many people with the same discontent and objective in common. Families have been seen in marches, even with children and grandparents, with the goal of changing the future for them. This will help children and the next generation to know that we must fight for what is fair. My own experience is a compelling example of this. My grandfather receives a pension of 100,000 Chilean pesos who is the reason why my brothers and I went to the marches. As the days went by, my parents, my little cousins and almost all my family became aware of the inequality and injustice that exists in Chile, such that now there are more than 10 of us who go to the marches, including my grandfather. For this reason, I strongly believe that participating in marches with children has and will have a great influence in all areas.

Secondly, the marches cause people to be more active in political things, investigate and inform themselves of what is happening and why. Although mass marches do not always get results immediately, they capture the attention of citizens and even cause an impact abroad, consequently people are more aware and have an opinion about it. For instance, what is happening in Chile has led thousands and millions of Chileans to go out to the streets generating more and more people to be informed of all the inequalities and injustices that exist in Chile and join this movement. The vast majority of my family was locked in this bubble, assuming that they will have a bad pension and their children will be in debt from the university, but the marches have caused people to wake up and fight for this inequality. Accordingly, I think the marches have an impact on citizens, since it causes them to take a stand against what is happening.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that participating in marches is one of the most significant and important ways to protest. This is because the marches are important, that it can be demonstrated to people, new generations and other countries, that we must fight for a fair country for all people, so that countries that are suffering the same, can take the example of countries that went out to fight, and have a fairer country.