Agree or disagree

Improving health care, education and pensions needs to be addressed most urgently in Chile

One of the most important complications of any politician, is to decide in which order to put needs of the population in a hierarchy, and what criteria must be used to order the problems of any members of one community. In my opinion, the complications that have to be in the top of the list are related with survival and quality of life, and those ones have direct relationship with education, pensions and health care, whose reality in Chile is quite precarious and I am going to describe it.

Basic services aren´t the best in Chile, being precarious to the people who use them, and this situation should not be like that. The republic has one of the worst public educational and medical management in Latin-American, and they directly result in an unhealthy quality of life for Chileans. There are a lack of professionals, bad facilities and the assistance of the institutions of the government are worse in comparison with particulars. That is the first reason that I thought hospitals, schools and everything that is associated with them have to be a priority, because a big percentage of the nation lives without enough benefits to be considered a good well-being as a result of this situation. The reality of Chile is reaffirmed by different research which give critic numbers. For example, an investigation revealed by Bio Bio radio indicates that an a half of the population earn less than four hundred thousand pesos and the minimum quantity to be recognized to survive is four hundred and fifty thousand pesos, and this amount doesn’t consider factors such as a college, or abnormal events (such as an emergency), thus they be bound to demand public benefits to attend their needs and emergencies (they), which are not enough to cover the demands of the population. A society in these conditions is not worthy, the issue of the quality of live must be changed.

Another urgent dilemma is the salary of retired workers, which is unsustainable to live product of the pension legislation, and it must to be different because it has affiliation with the subsidy of elderly. The main problem is that big companies are owners of the structure of distribution, hence they are interested obtaining cash instead of administrating finances with the focus of obtaining the best way to deliver decent benefits. And sadness statistics affirms this is a focal point, which it can be seen by the big profits that pension plan company earn in contrast with the poor dividend that the people attain. I believe that this situation doesn’t have to happen, people who have been working their entire life, in a time that it is supposed to be to relax and enjoy their last days, and instead, they are doomed to continue working because the income that they receive isn´t enough to keep a respectable life style. There are a big number of retire citizens with problem with their medication, sickness and life styles. Indeed, Chile has a big scale of depression into old men and women, derive of their routine situation. Poverty is totally inconceivable, but even more so in those who cannot work. Therefore, that situation should to be changed, is a priority.

Summarizing, I believe that health, education and pensions are the most urgent topics to consider as a priority because are correlated with the maintenance of the individuals. Adding, if in case are problems are solved, the protests are going to decrease. Don’t forget, every change involves time, thus we have to have some patient to see a new and better country