Why Pucón is the best place to visit in any time of the year

Pucón is a small town located in the south of Chile, more exactly in the Araucanía Region near to the border with Argentina. Situated close to The Andes, Pucón is surrounded by huge forest mountains where near the top you can start seeing the millenary trees known as Araucaria. The city is located near to the Villarrica Lake and has a population of just over 22,000. The urban areas mainly live by the tourism, while the rural areas live from agriculture and cattle racing. Because of its large surface, only 65% of the population lives in urban areas, meaning that close to 7,700 lives in rural areas.

Known by its huge tourist potential, Pucón have a lot of activities to do during summer and winter time. If you like being relaxed during a summer day you can go and spend the day in the lake sunbathing, swimming or kayaking. But if you are looking for an extreme and adventurous day you can go water skiing, jet skiing, rafting or go for a sick ride in the Pucón Bike Park, just above the Villarrica volcano. During winter season the volcano gets covered in snow, meaning that the bike park becomes a ski park. Now for winter you can go to the many surrounding hot springs facilities or, just as in summer, go to explore the nearby lakes and little towns with gorgeous views in the way. Finally, Pucón have a lot of good restaurants with a big variety of specialties, but you have to be willing to pay the big bucks.

In summary Pucón is a gorgeous little town, with a bunch of activities that you can do alone or with your family and friends, but you always have to be aware on which time of the year you are visiting. In high season it can get really crowded.