You are planning to study in the United States. What do you think you will like and dislike about this experience? Why?

Studying in the United States has been the dream of most of the students these days. Even I have a dream to study in the United States and planning to pursue my graduate studies from this country. Moving to another country brings new experiences and challenges which one might like or dislike. There are several advantages and disadvantages in moving to another nation for pursuing our graduate studies. Similarly, when I move to another country there are several things which I may like or dislike.

The thing which I will like about moving to another country is that it will give me exposure to meet different people from across the world. I will socialize with people of diverse ethnicity, races, and religion. I can even be friends with people of a different nationality. Such an opportunity will aid me to learn about different cultures, languages, backgrounds, and customs which might be fruitful at a later stage in my life. For example, while studying in the United States, I can become friends with a Chinese or Spanish student which can expose me to their language and traditions. Also, such exposure can beneficial for me when I need to relocate to any other nation for work purpose as I can easily adapt to that nation’s local customs and traditions.

Another thing which I will like about moving to another country is that studying in the United States will provide me an opportunity to get a world-class education. The United States is a country with more than 4000 universities and most of the top-ranked institutions in the world are situated in this country. Such a quality education from top-ranked universities can add stars to my career and later be beneficial in my professional life. I can pursue my graduation in a variety of disciplines which no other country offers. Such an immense range of opportunities will definitely add to my learning experience. For example, I wish to pursue my graduate studies in the field of Industrial Management which is a blend of engineering and management degree. With such a specialized degree I can easily secure a job as technology managing skill is in popular demand in the industry.

The thing which I will dislike is that I will miss my family and relatives a lot. When I move to another country, I will initially start missing my parents a lot and become home-sick. I will only be able to meet my parents about once or twice in a year which is a sad thing. As I belong to India and we Indians are very much attached to our parents, staying away from our parents can seem pretty much difficult at first sight.

Another thing which I may dislike initially but like at a later stage is that I will have to live independently, manage our daily routine work. Moving to another country, I have to do my daily household chores like cooking, cleaning utensils, and washing clothes by myself. This can make my day a bit burdensome in the beginning but later as I get accustomed to it, I will find it much more enjoyable. Also, I will have to sustain myself financially as the United States as a high cost of living and the tuition fees of my university will also be much higher than in India. So to make for most of my expenses, I will have to do a part-time job. I will have to work in a restaurant or fast-food joint or even in a store which will enable me to cover up for some part of my expenses.

Therefore, moving to the United States will bring with a bunch of experiences which I may like or dislike but such experiences can teach me important lessons in life which no other teacher or a parent can’t teach and train myself to live independently.