Parents are the best teachers. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Use specific examples and details to support your response.

It is a well-known fact that parents are the first teachers in our lives. They teach us to walk, to speak and develop good manners before we make our way to the real world. Personally, I believe that parents are the best teachers and no other teacher can perform such duty with diligence and care as our parents. Parents are involved in the development and education of their children throughout their lives. Even the most professional teachers aren’t that much involved as the parents are.

At the initial stages of our life which corresponds to our childhood, parents are deeply committed and involved in teaching their children. Often, they wish to make sacrifices on their part for the betterment of their children. They love their children a lot and have the utmost patience while passing down knowledge to their children. They wish success for their children and never involve in teaching their children bad things. In fact, most of the implicit learning occurs when children unconsciously imitate the habits and behavior patterns of their parents.

During the later stages of our life during adulthood, parents are arduously involved in offering advice which most of the children might not accept initially. At this stage, children consider their close friends to be their teacher. Most of the times adolescents are notoriously rebellious and may automatically reject the advice their parent offer. For instance, my marriage which was an inter-caste one was solely against the beliefs and traditions of my parents. My parents were against this marriage at the beginning but later became flexible with their beliefs and supported my decision. So, being a teacher of an adolescent is much more complicated and many parents fail to be a good teacher for their grown-up children.

However, parents are not professional teachers and sometimes, tend to be prejudiced by the love of their children. In many cases, parents only present one viewpoint of the world to their children whereas good teaching is based on different attitudes. So, wishing good things for children and offering an easy life may prevent maturation of their children. Therefore, attending a school and learning from teachers offers a broader perspective which our parents can’t offer. In addition, once our parents get older, they become more conservative and are not open-minded with the latest trends and fashion. So, we need to be cautious while taking advice during that period. But, the kind of intuition they possess and the love they cherish always makes them the best advisers any time.

In conclusion, while parents are not the ideal teachers and children generally need a great diversity of teachers in their lives in order to get a more accurate view of the world. But, parents are the most committed of all teachers and have the greatest emotional investment in their children’s future.