You have decided to give several hours of your time each month to improve the community where you live. What is one thing you will do to improve your community? Why?

Community is one of the most significant part of our lives, because it implies interacting with people and living in harmony. That's why every individual should contribute one way or another to improve it. As far as I am concerned, I would contribute by underlining the importance of natural environment. This is due the fact that nature is vital for our health and for the future of our children. I will explain my statement in the following essay.

First of all, a clean atmosphere is essential for people's health, being the root of our well-being. The more green spaces we have, the healthier we are. Therefore, I would start a program that involves the whole neighborhood. The main purpose of it is to plant as much trees as possible, to arrange green spaces and to arouse awareness about the importance of natural environment. Moreover, this program would have implication on long term, because kids would learn to protect the nature, to implement what they see, perpetuating such positive actions. For example, I saw my five years old nephew folding a plastic bottle and putting it in a separate bin. When I asked him why he did that, he said he learned at kindergarten how to recycle plastic, mentioning that he wants to live in a clean world. Thus, as you can see, a small lesson can impact a generation.

Second, an unpolluted environment is important for the future of our off-springs. Unfortunately, nowadays the situation is deplorable, because human activities influence the climate. Moreover, not only health is affected, but lifestyle, crops and other sources of food are suffering to. This happens as a consequence of global warming, and one way to prevent this from happening is to enlarge the green spaces and the forests. For instance, I live in Ankara in outskirts and I have the advantage to be surrounded by forests and green landscapes. There was a strong storm last week, and the areas covered by cement were affected by serious floods, and actually some cars were floating. However, my neighborhood was not affected at all, because the water was absorbed into the land. Furthermore, the storm was less powerful here because there is less cement, and thus less abnormal meteorological events.

To summarize, one way to enhance the community I live in, is by implementing a green program. This is because planting trees is both a helpful method to have a prosperous, healthy live and because it fights against fouling the environment which is vital for our children' future.