Your friend wants to lose weight. What advice would you give to your friend and why?

Losing weight is a major issue amongst people. Overweight body structure or obese body type can hamper the confidence of an individual to a great extent. I personally believe losing weight requires a lot of mental strength and control over momentary cravings. In my opinion, losing weight is a road with many hardships and is not an easy one.

Firstly, he would need to eat healthy food to stay fit. Eating nutritious food is the key to a healthy and lean body. Having a balanced diet and reducing junk food cannot be substituted while on the journey to weight loss. By way of example, I can recall that one of my friends was overweight and was determined to loose weight. He used to try and eat healthy in the beginning but couldn’t, which hindered his progress towards weight loss. Later on, when he started showing some control over his ‘junk food’ cravings, he lost a lot of weight in a comparatively less time.

In addition to eating healthy, he should exercise, play a sport or do yoga everyday to help his body survive the day. Exercising not only makes the body lean and helps in losing weight, but it also has other benefits; it boosts self confidence and moral of the individual. Doing yoga freshens up the body as well as the mind and gives a good start to the day. I remember, when my uncle wanted to lose weight and he started to eat healthy. However, he wanted to speed up the process of losing weight and he started playing badminton everyday. He lost weight almost twice as fast after starting to play badminton. Exercise helps in losing weight fast as well as helps make our body tough.

Finally, my most important advice would be to avoid instant gratification. Eating junk because it was available, gives nothing but momentary pleasure. If one truly wants to lose weight, he should learn to sacrifice momentary pleasures and look forward for lasting pleasures(like having a nice lean body). In my opinion, self control, sacrifices and determination are the prerequisites for losing weight. If a person does not have the determination required for this journey, he will never go through with it lose a considerable amount of weight. I remember when one of my sisters started eating healthy and going to the gymnasium, but after a few days went back to her old habits of eating junk and sleeping. Giving up in a few days and going back to the old lifestyle is worthless; this attitude won’t help in any way when it comes to losing weight.

To summarise, my advice to my friend for losing weight would be to make sacrifices along with having high amount of self control. Eating healthy and exercising are the two pillars to lose weight. Instant gratification shouldn’t be the goal and last but not the least, he should be highly motivated and determined to lose weight; mind state and mental strength matter a lot.