negative impact

Our current way of life has many versions and variables to it. It basically is like a coin has two sides to it; the way of life we currently have might destroy the planet or worsen the living conditions for future generations, however we also have some habits or ideologies which would shape this world to be a better place to live in. If I have to choose, I would lean towards the idea that our current way of life may indeed have a negative impact on the future generations.

Firstly, the reckless use of natural resources is what I think would be the primary reason for a negative impact on the future generations. The oil reserves or resources like water are so carelessly used or rather wasted that we might not leave any of it for our future generations. This frivolous attitude would not lead to anywhere good and would render the future generations unsustainable. Careless use of resources spike up the prices of oil in turn affecting the overall economy of the world and by way of example, India is the second largest oil importer; if oil resources are reduced to a great extent, the value Indian rupee would further decrease in turn affecting the economy.

In addition to reckless use of non renewable resources, environment conservation is definitely not given sufficient importance. If enough efforts are not taken, and trees are cut or destroyed due to forest fires, it would make many species homeless. Many animals would die due to lack of food and home. The ecosystem would be completely out of balance. I recall that recently, there was a fire in Amazon forest which went on destroying and burning trees for 3 weeks. This incident gave rise to many unimaginable effects in regards to climate change, global warming and oxygen levels of the planet! If our environment is destroyed at this pace and we do not take enough efforts to conserve it, our future generations won’t be able to live a healthy life.

Last but not the least, our current way of life can be broadly categorised as a corporate rat race. In this rat race, there is no kindness, compassion and love for people around us. I remember, the other day, one of my colleagues took advantage of a situation which was unethical and resulted in exploitation of his juniors. This incident however led him to a promotion and my colleague does not regret taking advantage of his juniors one bit. If this rat race does not stop, if we do not take amount to live or life and love others to the fullest, if exploitation and taking advantage of others becomes mundane and normal, it would be the doom of humankind according to me. Love and compassion is what would help the current way of our life as well as the future generations.

In conclusion, I lean towards and agree with the statement that our current way of life will have a negative impact on future generations. These negative impacts according to me could be caused due to our careless attitude and utter disrespect for others but I also believe that it is in our hands to change this situation and make this planet a better place to live for our future generations.