In your opinion, what is the most important characteristic (for example, honesty, intelligence, a sense of humor) that a person can have to be successful in life? Use specific reasons and examples from your experience to explain your answer. When you write your answer, you are not limited to the examples listed in the question.

No one can deny that everyone has a different definition of success. Some measure it by their cognitive abilities, while others by putting a smile in someone’s face. However, If I were forced to choose, I would say that frankness is the most essential trait to secure success in life personally and professionally.

First and foremost, being trust-worthy would create, strength, and sustain our relationships with others. For instance, when I was a sophomore, I made friends with one of my colleagues and we remained friends for Five years. One day, we got into a fight and I asked her about a particular thing, unfortunately, she lied to my face and tried to twist the truth. As a result, I cut ties with her because the most important factor in our relationship has collapsed.

In addition, possessing a moral compass would aid us in maintaining an intact state of mind. Indeed, honesty is a vital factor to have inner peace. For example, I remember once, I lied to my professor about doing an assignment. To be honest, that night, I could not sleep because my conscious was eating me alive.; so, on the following day, I went to my professor’s office and admitted the truth. My teacher acknowledged my honesty and I learned my lesson that stretching the truth will only create an internal conflict. Consequently, saying the truth no matter what is key to self-peace.

Last but not least, saying the truth would enable our superiors in the workplace to trust us. To illustrate, my brother is a finical analyst, during his first year, he was not that efficient employee. But my brother got promoted after two years, the reason behind that is his integrity and accountability. For sure, my brother’s moral correctness assisted him in gaining his boss confidence. Therefore, if my brother had covered- up his mistakes work, he would have not gotten promotion.

In conclusion, it is irrefutable that we all wish to make it in life, but the door for that is honesty. I believe this for virous reasons such as honesty is key to sustain our ties with others, maintain a peaceful life and thrive in our jobs.