In your opinion, what is the most important characteristic (for example, honesty, intelligence, a sense of humor) that a person can have to be successful in life? Use specific reasons and examples from your experience to explain your answer. When you write your answer, you are not limited to the examples listed in the question.

No one can deny that everyone has a different definition of success. Some measure it by their cognitive abilities, while others by putting a smile in someone’s face. However, If I were forced to choose, I would say that honesty is the most essential trait to secure success in life personally and professionally.

First and foremost, being trust-worthy would create, strength, and sustain our relationships with others which in turn, will help us to successfully maintain ties. Yes, since such a trait is the pillar of relationships. For instance, when I was a sophomore, I made friends with one of my colleagues, and we became inseparable like to peas in a pod. One day, we got into a fight because I asked her about a particular thing. Unfortunately, she lied to my face and tried to twist the truth; because I was not able to believe her anymore, eventually, I had cut ties with her. Hence, honesty is the most indispensable character to pave the way for us to become successful when it comes to private relationships.

In addition, possessing a moral compass would aid us in maintaining a stable healthy mind. Indeed, honesty is a vital factor to have inner peace. For example, I remember once, I lied to my professor about doing an assignment. To be honest, that night, I could not sleep because my conscious was eating me alive.; so, on the following day, I went to my professor’s office and admitted the truth. My teacher acknowledged my honesty and I learned my lesson that stretching the truth will only create an internal conflict. Consequently, saying the truth in every life aspect is key to self-peace and become personally satisfied.

Last but not least, saying the truth would enable us to flourish in our professional endeavors. In point of fact, our superiors in the workplace can trust more easily. To illustrate, my brother is a finical analyst, when he got his first job, he was not that efficient employee. But my brother got promoted after two years, the reason behind that is his integrity and accountability. For sure, due to my brother’s moral correctness, his boss was able to trust him and believe in his potentials. Therefore, if my brother had covered- up his mistakes, he would have not gotten promotion. Accordingly, uprightness is what will assist us to instill confidence in our superiors and co-workers which in turn, will assist us in thriving professionally and become occupationally successful.

In conclusion, it is irrefutable that we all wish to make it in life, but the door for that is honesty. I believe this for virous reasons such as honesty is key to sustain our ties with others, maintain a peaceful life and thrive in our jobs