In your opinion, what is the most important characteristic (for example, honesty, intelligence, a sense of humor) that a person can have to be successful in life? Use specific reasons and examples from your experience to explain your answer. When you write your answer, you are not limited to the examples listed in the question.

In some ways, life is a rewarding experience since we work hard to achieve our goals. In other ways, the obstacles that we undoubtedly face make it difficult for us to cope at times. Whether we are in good times or bad, certain qualities will help us to weather these storms successfully. Of course, no one can deny that everyone has a different definition of how to be successful during our lives. Indeed, some measure it by their cognitive abilities, while others gauge success by putting a smile on someone’s face. However, If I am forced to choose, I will say that honesty is the most essential trait to secure success in life personally, academically, and professionally.

First and foremost, being trust-worthy creates strength and sustains our relationships with others which in turn, will help us to successfully maintain ties, especially since such a trait is the pillar of relationships. For instance, when I was a sophomore, I made friends with one of my colleagues, and we became inseparable like two peas in a pod. One day, we got into a fight because I asked her about a particular thing. Unfortunately, she lied to my face and tried to twist the truth. Because I was not able to trust her anymore, eventually, I had cut ties with her. Hence, honesty is the most indispensable character to pave the way for us to become successful when it comes to nourishing relationships.

In addition, honesty can benefit us academically inasmuch as possessing a moral compass aids us in maintaining a stable healthy mind. Indeed, honesty is a vital factor to have inner peace. For example, I remember once that I lied to my professor about doing an assignment. To be honest, that night, I could not sleep because my conscience was eating me alive, so on the following day, I went to my professor’s office and admitted the truth. My teacher acknowledged my honesty, and I learned my lesson that stretching the truth would only create an internal conflict. Consequently, saying the truth in academic contexts is the key to self-peace and to become personally satisfied.

Last but not least, saying the truth will enable us to flourish in our professional endeavors. In fact, our superiors in the workplace can trust us more easily if we are honest with them. To illustrate, my brother is a finical analyst, and when he got his first job, he was not that efficient of an employee. However, my brother got promoted after two years because of his integrity and accountability. For sure, due to my brother’s moral correctness, his boss was able to trust him and believe in his potential. Therefore, if my brother had covered- up his mistakes, he would have not been promoted. Accordingly, uprightness is what will assist us to instill confidence in our superiors and co-workers which, in turn, will assist us in thriving professionally and in becoming occupationally successful.

In conclusion, it is irrefutable that we all wish to make it in life, but the door for that is honesty. I believe this for various reasons such as honesty is key to sustain our ties with others, maintain a peaceful life and thrive in our jobs.