In your opinion what is the most important characteristic of a successful student must have? Describe the characteristic and give reasons for your opinion.

In order to be successful, a student must have certain characteristics. Being successful is very important to students as it acts as a pay for their work. Perseverance is perhaps the most important characteristic a student should possess. Never giving up and being determined to achieve fruition of the task are what I call perseverance. Consistently trying and making an effort to understand and study the subjects are very important. Working with a resolve to achieve success is what makes a student successful.

The famous saying of "Practice makes a man perfect" is very apt for a student. As a human being everyone makes mistakes and has to learn from them. Failures are stepping stones for success. A failure does not mean that you should not try after that. Consistently practising and analysing your mistakes will take you nearer to your goal. Take for example, the subject maths. In any level of maths class the numerical are different and vary a lot from one another. There is a high chance that you don't get the answer on the first go, but it will require multiple try. But with time you will become better as you will start to see patterns and the nuances of solving the similar problems. This can be achieved only with repeated practice and not giving up at a failure, persistently trying. I found Maths in my 12th std to be very difficult but I worked with a resolve of cracking the formula of scoring good marks. In the process, I not learnt how to solve the problems but my teacher was very happy with my commitment and helped me in understanding the concepts even better.

Not every subject generates an interest in every student. Some may like science and some may like literature. But everyone has to study all of them. Studying something without interest is not studying but just equivalent to mugging up the necessary details to clear the exam. repeatedly going through notes, attending lectures, finding extra details to understand the concepts help in a great way. It make the student moe interested towards the subjects. On the same note, not everyone is equally talented in everything, one student maybe very good at literature and another might be excellent in chess. So if you want to make progress in anything where you want to improve yourself, persistently trying and doing a smart work is necessary.

But these example are not to say that only perseverance is important, many other traits like knowing how to work smartly, diligence, interest is very necessary for success. Success can mean different things for different people, but ultimately to achieve success you have to take the right path and for students it is a difficult path. Too many subjects and very less time. It is very important that they manage time properly and contribute enough time to everything.