Your school has enough money to purchase either computers for students or books for the library. Which should your school choose to buy- computers or books? Use specific reasons and examples to support your recommendation.

The school’s library, and the computer laboratory may be the most frequent rooms in the academic area. If my college gave us the opportunity to choose between enrichening the library with more books, or providing every student with a computer, I would definitely sign for a books purchase. I feel this way for the reasons explained below.

To begin with, the majority of students own a computer, laptop, or digital device of some sort that plays the same function. In addition to that, most classes have a computer of their own. That is to say that even if a student doesn’t possess a computer specifically, he or she may find access to one easily, or can rely on their other online platforms. In contrast, everyone may own a book, but every book contains different content. Therefore, it’s better to have a rich library, where students, professors, and other staff can read the material they are particularly looking for.

Another reason to consider is that books inherit information that the internet doesn’t contain. To be more specific, let’s take an example from an experience of my own. When I was in the freshman year of high school, I was conducting research on bacteria multiplication, with my laboratory team. I was keen on using our laptops, because we could explore a great range of data, and could record our findings at the same time. The latter wasn’t as important as the former, however we discovered this quite late during the experiment. As desperate I was with the results, I implored one of our mentors to intervene with the experiment. He didn’t participate, but advised us to use printed documents as our data supplier. We found out numerous pages of advanced information that we didn’t find online. That enhanced our research, and actually produced desired outcomes. In brief, books can be much more advantageous than computers, due to their rich sources of information.

Moreover, having more book choices within the library may attract more students to spend their free time reading. Inevitably, they will enjoy the immeasurable benefits of reading. For instance, pupils that do not read during their leisure time, but come across an alluring book in the library, will, indisputably, become interested in this facility. As such, they will develop a passion for reading, and eventually enjoy its benefits. In conclusion, the more diverse a library is in its book choices, the more people will read.

As can be understood above, I am convinced that books are more beneficial than computers, and if my school were to choose between the two, I would recommend the first option for the reasons mentioned.