The ability to learn more than one language will be less important in future Do you agree or disagree

Recently, the importance of the ability to learn languages other than mother tongue has sparked an ongoing controversy. While some people believe that it will always be of high significance, others maintain that it will be less essential in the future. This essay will discuss why this ability will continue to be vital in future as well.

Firstly, almost all people, except for native English speakers, will need to at least learn English besides their mother language, because it already is the predominant language of science, business, and tourism, for instance, worldwide. However, the level of required proficiency varies between people because not all people need to deliver a talk in English or study in English speaking countries. Having said that, the majority of people require some level of proficiency when doing business, reading articles, and travelling abroad for example. In sum, the ability to learn more than one language remains important in the future as well due to various communication needs in today's hyper connected world.

Furthermore, one should acquire a minimum level of knowledge of a foreign language in order to be able to use various user-friendly online translating websites and mobile apps. Take for example google translation, it is free and covers numerous languages; one just needs to type the sentence in its own mother tongue and is just a click away from the translation in the desired language but it is highly likely to receive the text with grammatical errors or wrong use of words. The user should be able to discern the mistakes and corrects them. It is not possible without the ability to learn another language.

In conclusion, I believe despite advances in the realm of technology, the ability to learn other languages is highly required to enable people to communicate with the world.