Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour.

Therefore working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree

Improvement and advancement in the technology and automation is clearly depicted. Nowadays, less time is required to perform a job. These days, there is an ongoing debate that working hours should be reduced as automation and technology have reduced the time required to do the job. In this essay, I will discuss my point of view by giving supportive examples.

Businessman claims that employees should spend same amount of time which was spent before the technology era. Before technology era it was industrial era, in which employees were required to do hard work and spent around twelve hours a days. For instance, according to study done in United Nations, revealed that employees daily working hours before 1900 was approximately twelve hours a day. However, as the technology advancement has been on its verge the working hours should be reduced.

Similarly, reducing working hour will have significant impact on the health of the human. Employees will have better social, mental and physical health. For example, a survey done in early 21st century showed that people who have less working hours are happier and enjoying healthy life. Hence, the businessman, government institutes and other organization should think seriously about the working hours.

In a nutshell, with the advancement in the technology and automation, the time to complete the job is reduced. Thus, working hours should be decreased. The essay discussed the main advantage of reducing working hours and the reason why it is not changed until now.