Company’s top level authorities should get their Employees in decision-making process. Discus Organizations involve employees in decision making process of their products and services. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both.

These days more and more companies involve their employees in the decision-making process. This idea has become popular, especially in the last decade. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this dramatic change in organizations.

Employee involvement in decision-making has a lot of benefits. Harvard University researchers undertook a study to understand the relationship between employee involvement and other measures. The results revealed that higher involvement level is positively correlated with higher performance, more satisfaction and higher productivity at the corporate level. Those who were involved in the decision-making were three times more likely to outperform their peers in performance evaluation, twice as likely to be happy with their jobs and five times more likely to bring in new ideas. The relationship between employees’ involvement and each of these three variables was statistically significant. As a result, scientific research supports the hypothesis that employee involvement is advantageous.

However, it has some drawbacks as well. In some cases, it may lead to employees’ confusion and frustration. A group of organizational psychologists at Stanford University conducted an experiment in 2015 to measure the effect of involvement on employees’ performance. They realized that although being involved in decision-making makes people more creative and productive, it also makes people confused and frustrated. Members of the treatment group had higher stress levels mainly because they had to do an unstructured task.

In a nutshell, employee involvement is associated with higher performance, satisfaction and productivity. It may also result in employees’ confusion and frustration. I think its advantages outweigh its disadvantages substantially. Therefore, different organizations can benefit from this new initiative in management.