Computer technology has had more negative than positive impacts in a society? How far do you agree with this statement? Support your views with reasons and / or examples from your own experiences?

The tremendous advancements in computer technology has both positive and negative effects on a society. Some people think that computers act as a good omen and flourish the society, while others maintain computers as harmful tool for individuals. This essay will discuss why computers have more positive than negative impacts in a society.

Firstly, the exponential growth in computer technology has rendered its use as very common. With the advent of computers, a paradigm shift has resulted in the working environment of tedious and hectic record keeping jobs. For instance, difficult and time consuming computing jobs in banks and record keeping in hospitals are now being efficiently done by computers. Therefore, it is unquestionable to argue that the common use of computers in the society might have any bad effects.

On the other hand, the availability of this evil technology at the hand of every commoner and at homes might lead young one’s and an individual to spend and waste a lot of time. As an example, kids would become so involved with this technology and subsequently lack in their educational activities. Not only wastage of time but also this evil technology can lead to numerous crimes like cyber-crime and hacking which would disturb the balance of peace within the society. As a matter of fact, such situations would undoubtedly entail negative impacts on the community.

To conclude, the use of computer technology has both pros and cons but I am of the opinion that this technology used in right manner can prosper and bear positive results in a society.