In developing countries, tourism has disadvantages or advantages?

Of late, there has been a colossal upsurge among the prodigies discussing the pros and cons of tourism in under developed countries. Some people think that developing countries are extremely benefitted by tourism while others maintain that tourism has numerous disadvantages. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism for developing countries.

At the outset, there are myriad of advantages associated with tourism for developing countries. Firstly, the most conspicuous is that the influx of tourists accelerates and promotes local business which eventually augments the economy of the country. Moreover, tourism provides and opens more jobs and ventures for the locale. As an example, for developing countries like Thailand, tourism is now one of the major economy booster. As a matter of fact, tourism not only generates more job venues but also accelerates the economy of the under developed countries.

On the other hand, tourism also posses some burdens and proves as disadvantageous for developing countries. The government of under developed country is not only required to meet the demands of its citizens but also the inundation of tourists adds up towards more demanding situation, for example, in terms of basic neccessities like food and accomodation. As a result, local government will have to play a pivotal role to provide basic commodities to both the citizens as well as the tourists.

To recapitulate, the aforementioned discussion propounds the view that tourism has both pros and cons for developing countries, however, acceleration of economy and generation of more employments for local population makes the advantages triumph over disadvantages.