Cultural Shock is a new worrying concern for few immigrants. What are the few possible options to eradicate this?

For new immigrants to a foreign country, not knowing what to expect can be daunting. I have personally experienced it for myself as a foreign student in Australia, and it took time to adjust. This essay will discuss on possible ways to address these concerns.

Being in a new country for the first time can be an exciting yet terrifying experience. As we know, different cultures have their understanding of ethics, tradition and ways of living, to name a few. A possible approach to this will be to educate the new immigrants on how to assimilate with the new culture. For example, the government could introduce workshops to assist newcomers in understanding local laws, tolerance to new cultures, and language classes to name a few. This might help the immigrants to gain a better understanding of what they might experience in the new country.

Another way would be to encourage engagement with the local community. This might help the immigrants to settle in more comfortably with the new surroundings and the community. For example, events such as ‘cultural night’ can be organized to enable the immigrants to share their culture with the locals and vice versa to get a better understanding of each other. My own experience in Australia as a foreign student included myself making new friends and being invited to participate in social events which helped to make me more comfortable as a guest in the country.

This essay discussed on how we could improve and address culture shock for immigrants. In my opinion, culture shock is a normal experience for new immigrants, and such steps as described earlier in the essay will help to ease their new experience.