Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

There are some debates regarding the effectiveness of the way that the students are assessed nowadays. Some people believe that written assignments are not an efficient way to evaluate the performance of the students, whereas others believe that formal assessments reflect the actual capacity of the person to show how well the content was absorved. This essay will discuss why it is important to make this decision according to the subject or course chosen from person to person, which may vary and require different ways to understand the performance review.

While I believe that every subject requires a system of evaluation, it is important to discuss the most suitable way to perform this evaluation among different students. Some disciplines require distinct maneer to run assessments. Some courses such as Cookery and Arts are better assessed when executing the student's practical skills of cooking, painting and playing, for example.

On the other hand, there are some courses that need to see how well the student can write and answer the questions regard specific content. On this case, subjects that are related to language, history and writing lessons should assess pupil's abilities to perform grammar and vocabulary when writing formal essays and assignments.

To sum up, it is important to seek for formal written assessments from the students in order to determine whether the student has absorved the content lessioned or not. Therefore, I believe that it is necessary to make different decisions considering the diversity of subjects that demand different systems of evaluation.