Do you think the significance of English language as an international language will be lost

with globalisation or its significance will increase with globalisation?

What is your opinion?

The importance of English language as a global language, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of English has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on society in the recent times. It can be agreed that English will remain vital with globalisation. This essay will elaborate how English is widely used by people around the world and how other languages are affecting the influence of English language.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why English significance will increase with globalisation, but the most conspicuous one is that English is the only language which is commonly used in many countries that help people from different nations to understand and interact easily. Moreover, English is the language of science, arts, music, history and what more; Universities around the globe are using English. As an illustration, Students from underdeveloped countries need to get competent score in English test to get admissions in International schools and Universities. Thus, in future English will have a greater influence around the world.

However, there remain some pitfalls which can easily overwhelm the potential benefits of English language, the primary one is that as globalisation is increasing, so other languages are also creating much opportunity to be used. For example, Chinese language mandarin is becoming more popular in many countries and people are learning. Hence, it will not be wrong to say that other languages can threat the existence of English as an international language.

In the view of arguments outlined above, it can be concluded that the benefits of English language are indeed too great to ignore.