in education system assessment through formal written examination still valid?

We often encounter people with different perceptions about anything that we see, do or experience. With regard to the topic that is assessment through the formal written examination is still valid in education system also, we can witness people holding two sets of opinions. One set of people believes that this can benefit us in multiple ways whereas the other set of people may have an opinion quite different from other. In my opinion, I certainly can see many advantages and at the same time, I would like to highlight disadvantages on the same.

Firstly, when coming to the advantages formal assessment is systematic, a preplanned method that is being used in the education system for many centuries. This method is helpful for teachers to see how much students have learned throughout their coursework and provides insight into each student’s learning abilities, which students can excel in studies and which require more attention, gets quite clear after formal exams. Formal exams are good way to test the memory of a student and their grasping power.

Secondly, when coming to the disadvantages student feels little nervousness and stressed when they take part in an important exam so coping with stress and anxiety at this level can affect health of the students. While some others think that continual assessment, such as coursework and project are a better to assess student’s performance instead.

In conclusion, formal examination system evaluates the learning and grasping the power of a student while regular assessments helps them to avoid stress and identify their interest and evaluates their skills and abilities.