Government should reduce their investments in arts, music and painting. Do you agree or disagree?

The recent phenomenon of government investment in traditional arts and music is widely debated with many people claiming that government should cut down these unnecessary expenditures and should spend more on vital sectors. However, I firmly believe that government and authorities should invest in preserving these traditional forms of arts, paintings and music as they give an identity to a country’s culture. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a reasoned conclusion.

At the outset, there are various persuasive arguments in favour of government expenditure in arts, music and paintings and the most conspicuous one is that these forms represent the cultural heritage of a country and reminiscences the local customs and beliefs of the people. Moreover, spending a proportional amount on preserving these traditions would contribute to the creativity of the people and would give them a chance to showcase their talents. Thus, this would offer a platform to younger ones who get inspired by the folk songs and contemporary arts and want to pursue their careers in them.

In contrast, people who argue otherwise balance their arguments on the gravity of the seriousness of the issues concerning the health, education, defence, law and the like of the economy. Admittedly, these sectors draw mammoths sums from government expenditure but still lacks when a country has a burgeoning population to handle. Moreover, investing in public sectors would make an economy stronger and would increase the development rate.

In views of the arguments mentioned above, one can conclude that despite government spends astronomical sums on various sectors including health and education, a proportional amount should be spent on encouraging the arts, music and paintings of the local economy which would increase the value of the country.