How does the extrinsic motivation theory affect learning a second language

Motivation is one of the most primary contributors in the process of second language acquisition. According to Garden (2001), motivation is defined as a goal that is boosted by effortful behavior, desire, and positive attitudes to gain the target. Ryan and Deci (1985) studied the self-determination theory which divided motivation into three types: intrinsic motivation, extrinsic motivation, and amotivation. This theory attracts my concern to the topic of motivation, and makes me raise the question “How does the extrinsic motivation theory affect learning a new language ?”.

According to Ryan and Deci (1985), extrinsic motivation comes from external elements and is illustrated by “rewarding” or “punishment". Therefore, this motivation transfers learners’ emotions and thoughts into actions such as doing homework to avoid punishment or gather achievements such as good marks, compliments, etc (Noreen, Ahmed & Esmail, 2015).

Firstly, it can be obvious that when students do not have intrinsic motivation inside themselves, extrinsic motivation can be considered a necessary and effective tool toward positive results in learning a language (Vallerand & Bissonnette, 1992). As (Pintrich & Schunk, 1996) stated that extrinsically motivated people carry out affairs since they think that their contribution will create enviable results like rewards, teacher and friend admiration, or evasion of punishment. For example, when studying a language, students can create extrinsic motivators for themselves such as “ If I do not revise the lesson, I will not pass the exam” or “ I have to learn English well so that I can get a well-paid job and travel around the world”. Besides, teachers can generate extrinsic motivation to motivate students by praising or giving awards; thus students will have interest to enhance language learning. Moreover, teachers also may raise warnings or impose proper punishments on students who do not complete homework or do not meet the requirements of teachers. This acts as a deterrent to students in order to make their self-regulation better in learning a language.

Secondly, Deci, Koesrner, and Ryan (1999) showed that extrinsic motivation also creates disadvantages such as producing pressure regularly on students. For instance, students may feel nervous, stressed, and even anxious when they can not complete deadlines or scared of punishment from the teacher. This affects directly student’s second language acquisition. Because when students are under pressure, their brain’s levels of dopamine and neurotransmitters will decline, which makes students’ cognitive skills such as memory, creativity, and learning become weaker (Schicker, 2019). Besides, according to Schicker (2019), extrinsic motivation also triggers the erosion of amusement to students because applying extensive external motivators can decrease intrinsic motivation.

In short, extrinsic motivation not only creates significant benefits but also brings out prominent drawbacks to students in the process of learning. Therefore, teachers should apply extrinsic motivation properly in order to generate positive effects as well as reduce the limitations of this motivation to students in learning a language.