Is it advisable to spend money on space exploration rather than issues like eradicating poverty? Discuss

It has been debatable among social groups about government budget in developed countries whether supporting space exploration means poverty is neglected. While space exploration aims to advance human civilisation, getting rid of poverty provides equity access to people who struggle to fulfil basic needs. In this essay, the importance of investing in space travel will be examined.

The space industry has progressed a number of advanced science and technology in the last decades through sending orbiting satellites and spacecraft to the Earth’s orbit and beyond. The results of the exploration helped engineers and scientists to further improve technology which elevate human’s lives in many aspects. One of them was the visibility into agricultural lands from space, which helped an institution like the United Nations in food production planning for poverty.

Another reason why space travel should be supported financially is chemical element or mineral discovery. Novel elements that exist in the universe may enhance the utility of current and limited natural resources, which largely accounted for government spending. These resources, if effectively planned, can allow the tight budget to be used more on the accessibility of human basic needs.

All in all, these two areas, ending poverty and space travel, should not be seen as competing against one another to receive funding. The technology emerged from studying the celestial structure, has been a significant part in closing the poverty gap, although indirectly and lengthy. The outcomes of both actions lead to the advancing human civilisation and intelligence to solve other pressing problems on the planet Earth.