Large shopping malls are replacing small local shops in cities and towns. In your own experience, is it a positive development?

The importance of small shopping malls, which frequently generated a great deal of heated debate, has recently become even more controversial. Some proponents claimed it is positive that large shopping malls are replacing small local stores, while others believe these local stores are still important to local communities. This essays will elaborate on how large shopping malls are beneficial and how local stores are still necessary.

At the outset, there are various reasons why some people believe that the replacement of large shopping malls to small local stores is a positive trend but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that these malls have stimulated buying and selling activities that lead to accelerating the development of countries' economy. Particularly, it provides a competitive market where customers can find a good price for their wish list and sellers can promote their best products. Besides, these provide numerous choices from commodities to luxurious things that consumers can buy in this open market. Thus, the role of central markets like this is indispensable for the improvement of the economic value.

Moving on to consider the opposing argument put forward by critics, some opponents claim that small local stores are essential for a majority of people. In fact, most people do not want to go to huge shopping malls frequently because they are often located far away from residential areas. For example, if you have to buy eggs, flour or some ingredients for your urgent needs, you will most likely go to the closest grocery stores instead of driving to a mall. Due to its convenience, local stores are unable to be replaced, even with the rising of large shopping malls.

In conclusion, taking these points into consideration, from my personal perspective, I am inclined to believe that small local shops are still useful for many people and they should exist due to very high demand.