Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this? Discuss with appropriate examples.

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about large malls replacing small shops. While it is possible to claim that large malls are better than small shops, my view is that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analyzing both sides of the argument.

To begin with, I would like to state that small shops give more employment to locals than large malls. For example, all large malls have 1200 employees, whereas small shops have 9000 employees. The result is many more people are employed due to small shops than large malls.

In continuation to the above point, I would also like to state that large malls have few or no human touch towards its customers, whereas small shops remember and welcome its customers by face. For instance, no employee in large malls is going to recognize me, even if I revisit the place more than few times. But, workers in smalls shop not only recognize but also welcome its customers even if they had visited just once or twice in recent past.

Those who argue for large malls are better than small shops have a different view and say that it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that large malls are more cost effective than small shops. However, in my opinion they need to collect more money from its customer to cover their cost of shop within the malls.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that small shops are better than large malls.