Is that law can change the human behaviour?

The effect of law on human behaviour, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of law has sparked the controversy over the potential impact on the human behaviour in the recent years. In my opinion, law can have huge impact on the human behaviour which others may disagree with this opinion of mine. This essay will elaborate both sides in greater details and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons on how law can have an impact on the human behaviour, but the most conspicuous stems from the fact that the wild nature of human beings can be controlled if they are restricted by some laws. For instance, if there were no rules or speed limits on the road, then people would behave violently, leading to many accidents or casualties. The fear of penalties or fines prevent human from such behaviour and in time people got used to these rules and adjust their behaviour accordingly. Therefore, law can indeed change human behaviour.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that human behaviour cannot be affected by law. There are some reasons to back that up but the most salient one is that a violent person will always behave violently no matter what the law states. Even the fear of penalties might not have any impact on their behaviour. Hence, in those cases, law will not have any influence on human behaviour.

For what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that law can have an effect on a person's behaviour if that person chooses to follow it.