Do you think the significance of English language as an international language will be lost with globalisation or its significance will increase with globalisation? What is your opinion?

The importance of English language as an international language, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of globalisation has sparked the controversy over the potential impact on the significance of English language as an international language in the recent years. In my opinion, the importance of English language will increase as globalisation increases. The essay will elaborate how globalisation have affected the significance of English language as an international language and thus lead to logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why globalisation will increase the significance of English language as an international language, but the most conspicuous one stems for the fact that communication becomes a lot more easier, no matter in which part of the world we are in, if people around us has some knowledge about language we speak. This is only possible if one language is chosen internationally and everyone makes an effort to learn it. Thus, the importance of English language as an international language will greatly increase with globalisation.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that English language will not be used internationally as globalisation increases. There are some reason to back that up, but the most salient one is that, with the advancement in technology, people can instantly translate any language to the language that they are mostly suitable with using a smart device. With the help of these devices together with the use of translating software, people can instantly understand any foreign language. Hence, they chose avoid the trouble of learning English language.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the importance of English will increase as globalisation increases.