The ownership of cars should be restricted to one per family in order to reduce traffic congestion and pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, in these days, it is an irrefutable fact that one family owns few cars and many people argue that ownership of cars should be restricted to one per family. While it is possible to believe that it helps to reduce traffic congestion and environment pollution, but in my point of view, I disagree with the argument. In this essay, I shall explain both positive and negative impacts of owning more than one car per family.

At present, many people do not prefer to use public transport due to various reasons. One of them is that the inconsistencies of transport services and some would argue buses and trains always delays so they prefer to use their own method of transportation. With regards to a study conducted at Harvard University, it is revealed that family conflicts are minimized when a family uses few methods of transport. Apart from that, members of a family have different working schedules and it is nearly impossible to rely on one family car.

Secondly, there are few people argue that owning a more than one vehicle contributes to congestion and pollution. There are other concerns such as financial and family commitment and those made it harder to afford few cars for a one family. Then some say that public transport is cheaper and available both day and night.

While it is there are strong arguments to support both sides of the case, but in my opinion, I disagree with the argument of owning a one car per family and I strongly suggest people to use public transport where possible to reduce the traffic congestion and pollution.