Learning a new language at an early age is helpful for children. Is it more positive for their future aspect or have some adverse effects. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, learning new languages like German, French is in vogue. Although learning new and advanced languages has astronomical benefits, but it has some adverse effects as well. Whether children should start learning these languages at an early age is an interesting question, upon which opinions varies greatly. This essay will outline the compelling factors why children should focus on spending time in learning new languages in early ages of their development.

To begin with, many people consider learning new languages as the greatest achievement for children. There is a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that children can learn different languages very quickly in early age and this will be beneficial for their future aspects. They can have more versatile career options because of this. To cite an example, a research conducted at Western Sydney University reveals that more than 60% of the students who studied new languages in their early childhood had bright and successful future. As a result learning the new languages is quite positive.

On the other side, others reject this notion and do not consider this as positive development. They believe that learning new languages at an early stage has adverse effects. This seems to be an extra burden for children which deprives them from spending time on extra co-curricular activities. For instance, spending time on sports and games refreshes their minds and they can focus on their studies well.

Learning different languages at an early stage is beneficial for children. In my opinion, as learning new languages deprives children from other sources of entertainment, its role in shaping the future of children cannot be marginalized.