In less developed countries, are the disadvantages of tourism as great as the advantages?

Nowadays, it is increasingly acknowledged that the effects of tourism are one of the biggest issues which less developed countries are facing. While some people believe that these effects are advantages, others would argue that there still have some disadvantaged parts. As far as I am concerned, the impacts of tourism are both advantages and disadvantages, which can be supported by the reasons as follows.

It is reasonable for me to believe that there has an advantaged influence from tourism in less developed countries, which is obvious because the booming tourism industry will bring many tourists thus boost the local economy. To further support the above statement, India started to develop its local tourism in 2000, which has dramatically increased the gross domestic product over the decades.

On the other hand, it also has some disadvantaged effects. The main justification for this view is that tourism will bring environmental issues. In particular, those less developed countries usually do not have sufficient waste disposal systems and lack funds to deal with a large amount of waste brought about by the tourists. Besides, some tourists may break the ecological balance and cause permanent damage to the environment. This can be established by a recent study by Oxford University which stated that 76% of the viewpoint had been polluted because of too many tourists.

In a nutshell, although this controversial topic never fails to attract public attention, we may safely conclude that there are both advantages and disadvantages of tourism in less developed countries.