Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

These days, it is not uncommon to see people posting hourly updates and photos for just about anything and everything. Messages and updates start pouring in as soon as people get up and continue until late in the night. Irrespective of the age group, almost everyone seems to be hooked onto social networking sites. In my opinion, this trend is harmful for both individuals and society. This essay discusses this trend a bit further and provides supporting arguments and examples of harmful affect this trend has brought in general.

Youth and young children, in specific, are obsessively addicted to social networking sites and instant messaging apps. It is not safe and appropriate for children to be posting and sharing personal photographs and whereabouts on such sites. They feel it to be trendy to be active in the online world. Unsocial elements take advantage of such sites to keep track of their activities and photos. People boast about hundreds and thousands of online friends and followers, but in real life, such people feel very lonely and emotionally vulnerable. This obsessiveness has cross all limits and in some cases has even resulted in users being medically impacted with mental stress and depression.

While these sites promote themselves as Social sites, but their impact on the societies is very negative. It is so annoying to see people in family and social gatherings being glued to their phones and busy “chit chating” with online and social friends, ignoring family members and relatives sitting in front. Rather than making people more social, instead these sites are pushing people towards solitary life styles. Face to face interactions are getting replaced with online updates and posts. Online and cyber crime is on the rise – thanks to reckless use and obsessiveness towards social site and apps.

To conclude, although social networking sites were invented and developed with the objective of brining individuals and societies together, reality is totally different. It is high time that individuals become more responsible in their use of social sites and get more connected with real people and in real life instead of being more socially active in online world.