Many people choose to migrate to other countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in a foreign country? Discuss with your own experience.

Nowadays, the phenomenon of migrating to a foreign country for work or study has become a popular trend. Although contested by many that migrating to other countries has benefits, such action is regarded thoroughly both positive and constructive by a number of individuals. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that migration provides better work and education opportunity for individuals, as well as helps create cultural diversity for the host country, and I will discuss its advantages and disadvantages in the following essay.

To begin with, moving to another country challenges individuals with different culture, language and living style that could be difficult in the beginning. People who found hard to adjust often experience culture shock and discrimination in the foreign country. While others who successfully adapt to the new society earn higher salary and are valued as an important member of the community. For instance, 77% of migration in the new country had negative experience in the first year, however, only 5% of them continue having the similar problem. Therefore, it is impossible to deny the challenges once relocating to a foreign country, however they ultimately allow individuals to grow and widen the horizon.

Furthermore, host countries are benefit from multiculturalism and innovation that migrates bring to their society. According to one of my study which I conducted in university, countries such as Australia, America and United Kingdom are the three major countries that benefit from culture diversity. It is reported that migrates accounted for 55% of American innovative industry and 32% of Australian technology related sector. Thus, migration bring countries diversity and new ideas which improve everyone’s lives.

In conclusion, I believe that the benefit of migration to a foreign country far outweight its drawbacks which shall be well handled and learned as precious lessons.